MCN ROCKS
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need a shoulder......

+5
taddy
4Cherubs
trace79
winniesmum
Odie
9 posters

Go down

Need a shoulder...... Empty Need a shoulder......

Post by Odie 31/07/09, 11:22 pm

Thought I'd put it here not NA as I have spent more time with most of you on here than there and the crap on NA is unbearable atm.

I had a call from my mum last night as dad went for a chest CT. He's had the 'flu' for almost a month and antibiotics havent done anything so he had the CT. As usual she was told to see the GP for the results but oh no mum has to be nosey as she always is and open them. Low and behold she doesnt understand them so she calls me. For those who dont know Im a nurse and have worked in most areas (I get bored easy!) So she rattles off the report and I understand about 90%. I ask her to fax it to me so I can read it properly. Upon getting the fax I hit the floor.

There is a large mass in the right side of his lung basically completely occluding his breathing tube on the right side. There is also enlarged lymph nodes. Some of you by now will know why I hit the floor.

Dad has lost about 14kg in the last 2 months, has no energy, is a heavy smoker and isnt eating much. Yep that great C word is looking most likely. I explained to mum there is a mass and he will need a biopsy to determine exactly what it is. I already know, I'm doubtful that it will be nothing. Dad ticks all the boxes for cancer. He's 56 years old.